Suicide and Why Life Is Precious

Suicide and Why Life Is Precious

If you have ever known someone who threatened, attempted, or committed suicide, you know how that event can shock your sense of balance, and raise so many questions, not only personal, but also about life, the Universe, and what is sacred.

Recently, I and a few friends experienced a friend making suicidal threats via text messages to us.  Obviously, we were greatly concerned, and three of us spent hours tracking this friend down, figuring out which county’s 911 to call, talking with police officers, and going to the hospital where this friend was taken to talk with the doctor and show the text messages we had received in order to make sure this friend got help.

This raised the question for me:  how do we understand suicide from the Self-Realization perspective?  I also wondered:  from the Self-Realization perspective, is it ever appropriate to take a life?  I raised the questions, trusting I would receive answers, and then planned the services this past weekend for the Self-Realization Community around the themes:  “The Preciousness that I AM,” and “The Preciousness of Life.”

What came to me, or channeled through me, was this:  “Suicide is a denial of the ‘I AM’ within oneself.  Suicide means giving up on the I AM within oneself.”  In the Self-Realization and many other spiritual traditions, the ‘I AM’ refers to the Divine Presence within each one of us.  So, in other words, suicide means denying and giving up on the presence of God within us.

Clearly, then, from the Self-Realization perspective, suicide is pretty much never meant to occur unless there is clearly a higher purpose along with no denial of the ‘I AM’ nor any giving up on the presence, potential, and purposes of the ‘I AM’ within oneself.   Our souls are here for a purpose, and as long as we are breathing in these bodies, we are in these bodies for a reason; with every breath, we still have a life purpose.

Because the Divine is present within us, and within our embodied being, life is precious in every aspect of being, for the ‘I AM’ is precious, and so, we honor the ‘I AM’ presence in each soul’s embodied Being.

During our Sunday Celebration, we read readings that I felt guided to share.  First, we read Psalm 139 from the Bible (well, most of it), in which the Psalmist affirms that God created him while in his mother’s womb.  We also read a small portion of Autobiography of a Yogi, in which Paramahansa Yogananda shares some of his guru’s remarkable God-Conscious nature, and then teaches about “Ahimsa,” Paramahansa_Yogananda_Standard_Posethe importance of non-violence in thought, word, and deed.  Finally, we read a few words of Jesus Christ in Matthew 25, where Christ makes it clear that whatever we do to other human beings, the “least of these,” as Jesus expressed it, we are actually doing to Christ himself.

While we together meditated with music, I asked the Ascended Masters who guide me to teach me what the lesson for the day needed to be.  For the first time, I experienced not just a representative Teacher Voice, but each Ascended Master in turn teaching me a relevant point. (I am so grateful!)

Mother Mary gave me a reminder that our souls enter this world and our bodies, generally, though perhaps not always, at conception.  In other words, she was calling to mind the fact that as soon as our souls become embodied in this lifetime, they are imbued with the I AM, and so we are precious, the preciousness of I AM from conception onward.

In fact, many years ago, I had had an experience of Jesus teaching me a very similar point.  I had been driving along in East Lansing, Michigan, when I thought I saw an anti-abortion bumper sticker.  Since, by then, I had spent many years as a “liberal feminist” passionate about women’s rights to determine what happens to our own bodies, my first reaction was, “Oh, no, not another anti-abortion bumper sticker.”  Immediately, the words of Christ came into my head, “As you do it unto the least of these, you do it unto me.”  I realized that Christ was saying that I thought of unborn fetuses as “the least of these,” and that clearly, I needed to stop thinking of them as less than Christ.

So, from a Self-Realization perspective, a soul conceived in a human body is precious and here in this lifetime for a reason, from the moment of that soul’s conception.

Jesus Christ of course reminded me of his teaching:  “As you do it unto the least of these, you do it unto me.”  This applies to all humanity, so #blacklivesmatter would fit right into Jesus’ teaching, affirming that, as we treat African-Americans, Muslims, or anyone whom we perceive as “different” than ourselves, this is how we are also treating Christ himself.  This is of course true from the Self-Realization perspective, because God is in all human beings, and we are all one with God and one another.

Mary Magdalene taught me:  When we are in deep emotional pain, feeling worthless or hopeless and feeling far, far from God, God is nonetheless present with us and in us, feeling the pain as the Divine Mother (Shakti) cradles us in her arms, loving us and empathizing with us.  (In Christian terms, one might say the Holy Spirit comforts us.)  So even when we are in such pain that we human beings might consider suicide, the Divine is not separate from us, but rather right there with us, feeling the sadness, feeling the pain along with us.

The difference is that the Divine knows that we are but living a dream, and that the pain is not real.

Paramahansa Yogananda teaches us the concept of Ahimsa:  what is important is to have no thought of or intention to hurt or kill anyone (including mosquitos), though protecting one’s own body is sometimes acceptable.  Ahimsa respects the Divine Presence in all life, and in all life forms.

Lord Buddha reminded me that, in our human nature,Logo Affirmation we have all we need in order to be complete and whole.  By implication, then, suicide is in fact completely unnecessary

High Priest Melchizedek taught me:  When people seek relief from emotional or psychic pain through suicide, they will not directly achieve it, for the only way out of that pain is to let go of ego, and to rise up to unite with the Divine Self, which heals all and shows us that it was just a bad dream.  The only way to arise from the pain of life is to Ascend. This means ascending in consciousness, and no longer holding attachment to the lower planes. Killing the body will not achieve this result, because killing the body from a place of pain is not an act of higher consciousness (it serves no higher purpose 99.9999% of the time), but rather is an act of the ego self.

Only someone who has already attained higher Consciousness could commit suicide for a higher purpose, and they would not be making such a decision from a place of emotional pain, nor would they be inflicting violence on anyone else.  In fact, any act of a person who has attained God-Consciousness could not rightfully be called suicide, though it might be called self-sacrifice, but again never with any violent intent towards others, because of the recognition that the I AM is in all life.  And so, for example, a soldier might throw him- or herself onto a grenade to save the lives of those around him or her.

Lady Kwan Yin shared with me:  When we are in pain, the best thing to do is to reach out with a heart of compassion to someone else who is suffering, for often their suffering is worse than ours.  In this way, we become one with the compassionate heart of God which is seeking to extend love and healing to others.  And in healing others, we are able to heal ourselves.

Master Lao Tzu said to me:  When we human beings are in great psychic or emotional pain, we are holding onto something, and we just need to let go of that negative thing (or thought) that we are holding onto.  When we let go of the negativity, we need to return to just Being, and in Being, find our peace.

May you find inner peace today, through sensing the Truth of Divine Presence within yourself.  May you come to know the I AM presence within yourself.  May you never give up on the I AM presence within you.  May you achieve the Ascension of consciousness that attains the fullness of the I AM and fulfill your soul’s I AM purpose in this life.

Love and Light,

Carol “Anandi”

Highest Harmony Healing & Coaching

http://www.meetup.com/Self-Realization-Community-in-Greater-Washington-DC-Area/

Mornings with the Masters: Mystical Journeys in a Postmodern World on Amazon.com

#suicide #suicideprevention #blacklivesmatter #abortion #lifeissacred #JesusChrist #ParamahansaYogananda #MotherMary #Buddha #LaoTzu #MaryMagdalene #Melchizedek #KwanYin #Self-Realization #AutobiographyofaYogi #IAM

 

About selfrealizationtherapy

I am an energy healer, intuitive life coach, author, meditation teacher, and inspirational speaker. While I am ordained in the Christian tradition, I have also studied Eastern spiritual disciplines and practices, including Raja Yoga Meditation; Intuitive Coaching; Reiki; Falun Gong; and other forms of energy healing for both people and animals. I am available for distance healing and spiritual coaching via phone, Skype, or Facetime; please email me at: carol.dodson.richardson@gmail.com to schedule a session. On Thursday, May 27, 2010, I experienced what I call an Enlightenment Vision, in which I ascended and was blessed by Ascended Masters of many faiths: Master Lao Tzu, Mother Mary, Mary Magdalene, Jesus Christ, Lord Buddha, Paramahansa Yogananda, High Priest Melchizedek, Lady Kwan Yin, Master Usui, and then by the Seven Archangels of the Seven Rays. After this vision, the teachings in Higher Consciousness began. Apparently, my crown chakra was opened, and direct contact with the Ascended Masters has been possible ever since. My message to everyone is: this is possible for you to achieve as well, although getting there is not necessarily quick or easy. With a Master of Divinity degree from Vanderbilt University Divinity School, a Master of Public Health degree from the University of Texas Health Center at Houston, and a Bachelor of Science degree in psychology from Texas Christian University, my personal vision is to be a healer and guru-doula, empowering people to experience and to give birth to the divine within themselves, individually and in community. Perceiving a unity in my readings in Eastern religions and in Biblical studies, I believe the original message of Jesus Christ was and is a call to Self-Realization, which may also be called following The Way. The Way, or the Tao consists of the practice of peace and love in every moment, honoring the Divine Presence within ourselves as well as within others. The Way of early Christianity was a spiritual practice which similarly focused not on the material world, but on the practice of Divine Presence within the earthly realm. When we practice The Way, or The Tao, we become one with Divine Peace, Love, and even bliss. When we attain this, we experience the "Kingdom of God" or Reign of God, within ourselves, Nirvana or possibly Samadhi. Achieving this Way within each of ourselves is the only way we will be able to usher in the Reign of Divine presence among us all here on earth. The ultimate goal of The Way, and of Self-Realization, is the attainment of unity with the Divine Consciousness, or Buddha-Consciousness orChrist-Consciousness, within, and beyond our normal mortal mind. This Unity-Consciousness is eternal, but begins in the here and now. May it be so.
This entry was posted in Channeled teachings, Inspiration, Meditation, Self-Realization, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

