What Is Supernatural – Anything?

This Post was originally written in the fall of 2014, and shared as a message for the Self-Realization Community in Derwood, Maryland (just outside Washington, DC)

What Is Supernatural – Anything?

For the past few weeks, I have been learning and practicing Falun Gong.  Falun Gong, or Falun Dafa, is a philosophy and a practice of meditative and physical exercises which originated in China.  Thanks to Master Li Hongzhi, who brought this “self-cultivation practice of the Buddha school” to the masses for free, it is now practiced by millions of people around the world. (falundafa.org)  (I encourage you to learn it by seeking a teacher in person in addition to following the online video.)

One of the exercises of Falun Gong is called, “Reinforcing Supernatural Powers.”  When I first saw that name in the online video, I thought, “Way to entice our egos to seek supernatural abilities!  I have no need for that ego desire.”

After a little over two weeks of watching the video and practicing the exercises, I found myself thinking, “What does supernatural mean, anyway?  In this scientific age, how can we define anything as being supernatural?   Is anything supernatural?”

Well, no sooner had I asked these questions, than I began to receive answers (a fact that might be considered supernatural enough in its own right!).

First, what came to me was that something supernatural has two qualities:  1) it cannot be limited by the five senses; and 2) it cannot be limited by the laws of nature.

Fascinated by this answer, I soon checked dictionary.reference.com for definitions of “supernatural,” and the two key points I see there are: 1) that anything supernatural is “unexplainable by natural law or phenomena,” and 2) that anything supernatural exists “outside the natural order.”

So, the definition I received fits well with the standard Western cultural definitions of ‘supernatural.’ In addition, the definition I received clarifies the concept even more with the point: “cannot be limited by the five senses.”  Also, the definition I received focuses not on explanation of its character, but on delineating the lack of limits on the character of what is supernatural.

While I know that there are various Higher Beings who teach me, Ascended Masters, Archangels, and Spirit Guides, this answer confirms for me the nature of my source, as it seems to me that only someone who has had experience with supernatural abilities (i.e., Ascended Masters) would define it by what cannot limit these abilities.

On dictionary.reference.com, there are also quotes “from the web” using the word “supernatural.”  The one that intrigued me was the saying:  “Human beings come into the world with a predisposition to believe in supernatural phenomena.”  I thought, well, if it’s on the web, hopefully I can find it.  My search led me immediately to a fascinating article published online by the American Psychological Association:  “A Reason to Believe,” by Beth Azar, December 2010, Vol. 41, No. 11, p. 52, published here:  http://www.apa.org/monitor/2010/12/believe.aspx .

The most intriguingly relevant statement I found in this article was this:

“People also have a bias for believing in the supernatural, says Barrett. In his work, he finds that children as young as age 3 naturally attribute supernatural abilities and immortality to “God,” even if they’ve never been taught about God, and they tell elaborate stories about their lives before they were born, what Barrett calls “pre-life.”

I believe the implications of these remarks are extraordinary, and too much to consider in our scope here, but, the essential concept I would like to glean from these remarks is that, even at young ages, our consciousness not only believes in the supernatural but also evidences a possibility of consciousness going beyond the natural limits.

One reason that I find this consciousness of the supernatural in young children fascinating is that, secondly, when I was meditating and asked if anything is supernatural, the answer that came to me was, “Yes, consciousness.”

Please think about this with me for a moment:  perhaps unlike our brains, what happens in our minds cannot be limited by the five senses.  Within the space of a few moments, we can think about Plato and philosophy, and then the benefits of various economic systems, and next we can think about how it feels emotionally to fall in love, and finally the cultures of Paris and Istanbul, none of which have anything to do with the five senses, and none of which are limited by space and time.

Certainly, a 3 year-old talking about life before they were born is sharing a consciousness that goes way beyond the limits of the 5 senses.

There are many accounts of children having these experiences – of remembering past lives.  The other day, I saw a teaser for a story online that referred to a young child saying, “Daddy remember that time we died….” – it turns out this was a posting on Reddit.com, where parents and others shared the “creepiest” things children have said.  That site actually includes many stories that could be attributed to children referring to past lives, to ghosts, and to loved ones who have passed on.  Unfortunately, not many people in our culture are educated to believe in the truth of these experiences, so our children have no one helping them with their experiences of consciousness and reality.  Many of us have similar stories to share about our own children, or our own childhood (or both!).

Also, our minds exist beyond natural laws, or the “laws of nature” such as entropy and gravity.  Our minds, or our consciousness, may seem limited by the brain, but in the general course of the day, our consciousness can do virtually anything, from imagining the potential for life on Mars to solving complex math formulas to composing music, to dreaming of achieving our life’s greatest goals, to writing fiction and poetry, to describing what we see with words that go beyond the physical description to capture the emotional and spiritual elements of what we see.

Our minds may be slightly limited by the laws of nature at times, but by-and-large, consciousness is not.  Consciousness can be conscious of anything.  Intuitive, emotional, theoretical, scientific, or interpersonal forms of consciousness exist that are in no way limited by the laws of nature.

Consciousness is supernatural.

Consciousness is the one aspect of the universe that is not limited by the laws of nature.  That is why miracles can occur.  That is why we are able to create our own realities to a large degree.  That’s why hypnotherapy can work.  That’s why meditation can literally transport us to another world.  That’s why people can have highly developed intuition and psychic abilities.  That’s why each of us “knows” things sometimes, without knowing how or why we know these things, even if it’s just a “gut feeling.”

Consciousness is a central aspect of the Higher Power we seek; isn’t it good news that we already have it?  However, the truly Higher Power of consciousness resides in our 8th Chakra, the Bindu, which is our Higher Selves.  So, if we would like to experience truly and constantly miraculous consciousness, we need to let go of our lower, ego selves, and raise our consciousness to the Oneness with the Divine that exists at the level of our Higher Selves.

So, just in case you like to think of yourself as a walking miracle; you truly are.  Or, if you would like to be a walking, talking miracle, you are able to be!

Consciousness is supernatural and unlimited; as Conscious Beings filled with the power of love, we have the power to change ourselves, and the world.

May It Be So.

Love and Light,

Nonnie

 

About selfrealizationtherapy

I am an energy healer, intuitive life coach, and the guru-doula of a new interfaith spiritual community called the Self-Realization Community. While I am ordained in the Christian tradition, I have also studied Eastern spiritual disciplines and practices, including Raja Yoga Meditation; Intuitive Coaching; Reiki; Falun Gong; and energy healing for both people and animals. I am available for distance healing and spiritual coaching via phone, Skype, or Facetime; please message me here to connect. On Thursday, May 27, 2010, I experienced what I call an Enlightenment Vision, in which I ascended and was blessed by Ascended Masters of many faiths: Master Lao Tzu, Mother Mary, Mary Magdalene, Jesus Christ, Lord Buddha, Paramahansa Yogananda, High Priest Melchizedek, Lady Kwan Yin, Master Usui, and then by the Seven Archangels of the Seven Rays. After this vision, the teachings in Higher Consciousness began. Apparently, my crown chakra was opened, and direct contact with the Ascended Masters has been possible ever since. My message to everyone is: this is possible for you to achieve as well, although getting there is not necessarily quick or easy. With a Master of Divinity degree from Vanderbilt University Divinity School, a Master of Public Health degree from the University of Texas Health Center at Houston, and a Bachelor of Science degree in psychology from Texas Christian University, my personal vision is to be a healer and guru-doula, empowering people to experience and to give birth to the divine within themselves, individually and in community. Perceiving a unity in my readings in Eastern religions and in Biblical studies, I believe the original message of Jesus Christ was and is a call to Self-Realization, which may also be called following The Way. The Way, or the Tao consists of the practice of peace and love in every moment, honoring the Divine Presence within ourselves as well as within others. The Way of early Christianity was a spiritual practice which similarly focused not on the material world, but on the practice of Divine Presence within the earthly realm. When we practice The Way, or The Tao, we become one with Divine Peace, Love, and even bliss. When we attain this, we experience the "Kingdom of God" or Reign of God, within ourselves, Nirvana or possibly Samadhi. Achieving this Way within each of ourselves is the only way we will be able to usher in the Reign of Divine presence among us all here on earth. The ultimate goal of The Way, and of Self-Realization, is the attainment of unity with the Divine Consciousness, or Buddha-Consciousness orChrist-Consciousness, within, and beyond our normal mortal mind. This Unity-Consciousness is eternal, but begins in the here and now. May it be so.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Is Supernatural – Anything?

  1. Nonnie,
    So well stated and I would like to add my definition to yours as to what “Supernatural” is.
    Supernatural — “something done by the integrating of matter and energy which neither can do alone.”
    I find that to also be what is termed “miracle” by people who are schooled (conditioned to believe in an established way based on “evil and good”) before they are able to reason and educate (to objectively observe, participate, reason and having the ability to reveal their finding) themselves.

    I practiced “Falun Gong” and found it quite interesting but mown guide directed me not to continue in it because my destiny will b e the thing to correct the conditions in my body which will bring me into a so complete state of enlightenment that I will be able to make the statement ascribed to Yeshua (Jesus) called christ, “all power in heaven and earth is in my hands.” I did find it quite refreshing and very liberating of oneself. I have also studied the writings, where possible, of all disciplines called religion I’ve encountered during my 0ver 30 years as a nomad, after all, two of Yeshua’s teachings — the religion I am “spiritually born” out of — is to observe all things and judge nothing so I’ve made it my business to Objectively Observe, Participate (as needed) and Reason to the ability to explain my findings.

    Thanks, sister “Song,” for sharing this.

    Elijah “NatureBoy”

    Like

    • Hi, Elijah, thanks for adding to the definition of supernatural. Very interesting. That might fit with the next entry, which will be something like “creating miracles.” May I quote you, if your definition fits in? Thanks!

      Like

Leave a Reply

